Kolkata, a city that loves back

‘’Kolkata is not just a city, but an emotion.’’
This is a common statement you’ll be hearing from any person hailing from the city of joy. I am no different. I too love my city, a lot. Lately, I have a feeling that the strings attached to my city are breaking. I no more feel that bad staying away from her. Maybe equations have changed or I am growing up. She is like my former lover. Every time I go back to the city for a visit, I get back my feelings for her. I tend to find back the love I had left behind. Coming back is no more the same. My heart no more aches the same way while coming back.
It’s called moving on. Isn’t it?
It’s also true that I can never love a city as much as I had loved her. She has raised me for 23 years. I ditched her and moved on to a better settlement option. I had to do something for my career. She could offer anything but my dream career. I wasn’t selfish, was I?
She gave me my childhood, my adolescence, my first college-bunk trip to Science city, my first movie with friends at South city Mall, my childhood afternoons at College street amidst the musty smell of old books, the evening strolls beside Prinsep Ghat, my first night out on the New year eve at Park Street, and many other memories which fall short of words.
I had to leave her because it had fewer jobs to offer and I wanted a better future. A selfish statement yet a feeling many of us would share.
We all know it’s hard to go back, but we still love her. This is because she is one city that loves back.

Leave a Reply

